The Warrensburg Greenhouse was first established by Sheridan Prosser (1852-1923), who built up a profitable business in garden plants, flowers and shrubbery. The original store was located on lower Main Street before he moved in 1903 to a 40 acre parcel off Horicon Avenue, where he built several greenhouses. After running the business for many years he retired and sold it to George Street in 1922. Street added landscaping. In 1932 it was sold to Harry Rowe, who after running the business for four years, sold it to Mr. and Mrs. Frank Cleveland and Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Barney, who owned and operated it from 1936 to 1952. At this time it was sold to Hugh and Adra Trenary who changed the name to Hugh's Flowers. In 1960 they built a new retail store at 17 Horicon Avenue. Adra died in 1963. In 1979 Hugh and his new wife, Ruth, sold the business to David and Debra Peters. In 1981 Debra moved the flower shop to Main Street where Squires Decorating Center, owned by Rudy and Edrie Squires, was located. Long-time friends, Debra and Edrie combined forces and created a new business called Posies, Paint and Paper. (See Sheridan E. Prosser.)
|Warrensburgh Heritage Trail||
The Warrensburg Heritage Trail takes you around the streets and avenues of Warrensburg, New York to discover the past of this Adirondack town located at the confluence of the Schroon and Hudson Rivers. As Warrensburg evolves let us remember to be thankful for those who have come before us...those who have created a strong foundation unto which we can build upon.
Town of Warrensburg